Naming Opportunity

Naming Opportunity for Three Blocks of Ganga Bhawan, IIT Roorkee

Glorious Ganga Bhawan History

Ganga Bhawan is one of the oldest Bhawans (Hostels) in IIT Roorkee. It was named after Sir Ganga Ram, one of the greatest engineers produced by the erstwhile Thomason College of Engineering. The foundation stone of the then D.S. hostel (presently 'B' Block) was laid by Sri B.R. Sabbarwal, retired Chief Engineer, Bengal on Nov. 26, 1956. This wing was opened by Ch. Girdhari Lal, Minister for Irrigation, Power and P.W.D., U.P. Govt. on Nov. 27 1960. During the years, as the intake of students increased the hostel expanded to accommodate them. A part of the hostel was dedicated to form a new hostel for the new entrants i.e. Rajendra Bhawan. At present, Ganga Bhawan consists of three blocks with a total strength of 438 students. Being the oldest in the institute, Ganga Bhawan is being renovated at present.

IIT Roorkee opens new opportunity for their alumni, philanthropists and social responsibility adhering corporate world to be associated with glorious Ganga Bhawan which is under renovation with an estimated cost of Rs. 8 Crore (approx. USD 1.13 Million). For this activity, IITR has launched its naming opportunity program to name the blocks of Ganga Bhawan with a onetime contribution of Rs 1.5 crore for each block. Please note:
  • Contribution can be made by an individual donor or a group of donors. In case the group-based donation,minimum donation required from each alumnus/philanthropist is Rs.10 Lac.
  • An entire block would be named after the individual donor. However, for group-donationa stone plaque having names of donors would be fixed on the wall of the block.


  • This is an opportunity to get closely associated with India’s oldest and prestigious technological institution – IIT Roorkee.
  • Donations to IIT Roorkee are 100% deductible from total taxable income u/s 80G of the Income Tax Act 1961.

  1. For making online donation, please use the following link:

  2. Note: If you are making the payment through Electronic Transfer, please inform us the details of transaction by email at

  3. To transfer of donation through RTGS/NEFT in India, please use the following bank account details:
    Name of Bank: State Bank of India
    Branch: Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
    Branch Code: 1069
    Type oF Account: Saving Bank Account
    Bank Account Name: IIT Roorkee Donation Account
    Bank Account No.: 10660281064
    IFSC CODE: SBIN0001069

  4. To send an a/c payee multicity cheque/DD, please write it in favour of "Registrar IIT Roorkee" and send the same at the following address:
    Prof. B. R. Gurjar
    Dean of Resources & Alumni Affairs (DORA)
    James Thomason Building (Main Building)
    IIT Roorkee, Roorkee -247 667
    Tel: (+91 1332) 285840, Fax: (+91 1332) 273560